El Hogar, Please Don’t Go!

The thought of El Hogar being demolished infuriated me.  Read news item here.

el hogar 1

 

I had the privilege of going to Europe two years ago and what I found amazing was how historical buildings stand along modern ones in the middle of the city.  When I went to the museums, they had abundant artifacts that I ran out of camera memory because there were just so many pictures to take…a far cry from what I saw in Fort Santiago weeks after I had arrived from Europe.

Someone once said that perhaps our nation is the way it is because we are a forgetful nation.  We forget the sins of the people from the past and elect them as present leaders.  And just as we forget the sins of the past, we also tend to forget the glory of the past by demolishing historical buildings left and right.  Remember Jai Alai on Taft Avenue?

Leave a Reply

